Notices
Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Is This Penalty Legal?

  1. #1 Gary Ablett Is This Penalty Legal? 
    Darrren1 is online now Better tables than DFS
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    20,787
    Love the penalty at 1:35 - very clever.

    Does anyone know if it's legal though?
    Reply With Quote   Quick reply to this message   Report Post   

  2. #2  
    MiraclesArePossible is online now Boot Room insider
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    55,740
    Quote Originally Posted by Darrren1 View Post
    Love the penalty at 1:35 - very clever.

    Does anyone know if it's legal though?
    Presumably it isn't. The taker of the penalty must always be known to the referee and the opposition.
    Reply With Quote   Quick reply to this message   Report Post   

  3. #3  
    Darrren1 is online now Better tables than DFS
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    20,787
    Quote Originally Posted by MiraclesArePossible View Post
    Presumably it isn't. The taker of the penalty must always be known to the referee and the opposition.
    Is that definitely stipulated somewhere?

    I mean you could always have a quiet word with the ref and tell him your plan. Not sure the opposition need to know.

    Full marks for creativity anyway.
    Reply With Quote   Quick reply to this message   Report Post   

  4. #4  
    MiraclesArePossible is online now Boot Room insider
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    55,740
    Quote Originally Posted by Darrren1 View Post
    Is that definitely stipulated somewhere?

    I mean you could always have a quiet word with the ref and tell him your plan. Not sure the opposition need to know.

    Full marks for creativity anyway.
    Pretty sure it is. It's late and I don't have the energy to look it up but I know that the referee at the very least needs to know the identity of the penalty taker, and that a change in taker must be reported to the referee. I'm presuming that by extension that information must be available to the opposition, for sportsmanship's sake you'd imagine.
    Reply With Quote   Quick reply to this message   Report Post   

  5. #5  
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    27,444
    Quote Originally Posted by Darrren1 View Post
    Is that definitely stipulated somewhere?

    I mean you could always have a quiet word with the ref and tell him your plan. Not sure the opposition need to know.

    Full marks for creativity anyway.
    Only the ref needs to know as I remember.
    Reply With Quote   Quick reply to this message   Report Post   

  6. #6  
    MiraclesArePossible is online now Boot Room insider
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    55,740
    Quote Originally Posted by Cullenator View Post
    Only the ref needs to know as I remember.
    Could well be that.
    Reply With Quote   Quick reply to this message   Report Post   

  7. #7  
    Darrren1 is online now Better tables than DFS
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    20,787
    Quote Originally Posted by MiraclesArePossible View Post
    Pretty sure it is. It's late and I don't have the energy to look it up but I know that the referee at the very least needs to know the identity of the penalty taker, and that a change in taker must be reported to the referee. I'm presuming that by extension that information must be available to the opposition, for sportsmanship's sake you'd imagine.
    Quote Originally Posted by Cullenator View Post
    Only the ref needs to know as I remember.
    Never mind sportsmanship - I'd love it if we tried that.

    Last minute at Old Trafford with the game at 0-0 and we win a penalty. Firmino shapes up to take it from the left - and then in runs Milner from the right.

    Beautiful.
    Reply With Quote   Quick reply to this message   Report Post   

  8. #8  
    MiraclesArePossible is online now Boot Room insider
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    55,740
    Actually I went back on my word and looked it up. In the FA's Laws of the Game the only thing they have to say on this issue is this: "The player taking the penalty kick must be clearly identified." The fact that it doesn't specify to whom suggests that it probably applies to everyone - teammates, the referee and the opposition.
    Reply With Quote   Quick reply to this message   Report Post   

  9. #9  
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    27,444
    Quote Originally Posted by MiraclesArePossible View Post
    Could well be that.
    https://www.fifa.com/mm/document/afd...k_en_47369.pdf

    It just says that the kicker is identified.
    Reply With Quote   Quick reply to this message   Report Post   

  10. #10  
    MiraclesArePossible is online now Boot Room insider
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    55,740
    Quote Originally Posted by Darrren1 View Post
    Never mind sportsmanship - I'd love it if we tried that.

    Last minute at Old Trafford with the game at 0-0 and we win a penalty. Firmino shapes up to take it from the left - and then in runs Milner from the right.

    Beautiful.
    I wouldn't because a competent referee would disallow it.
    Reply With Quote   Quick reply to this message   Report Post   

  11. #11  
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    27,444
    Quote Originally Posted by Darrren1 View Post
    Never mind sportsmanship - I'd love it if we tried that.

    Last minute at Old Trafford with the game at 0-0 and we win a penalty. Firmino shapes up to take it from the left - and then in runs Milner from the right.

    Beautiful.
    Nah, Flannagan.
    Reply With Quote   Quick reply to this message   Report Post   

  12. #12  
    Darrren1 is online now Better tables than DFS
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    20,787
    Quote Originally Posted by MiraclesArePossible View Post
    Actually I went back on my word and looked it up. In the FA's Laws of the Game the only thing they have to say on this issue is this: "The player taking the penalty kick must be clearly identified." The fact that it doesn't specify to whom suggests that it probably applies to everyone - teammates, the referee and the opposition.
    Well of course the penalty taker is identified - he has his name on the back of his shirt in large letters.
    Reply With Quote   Quick reply to this message   Report Post   

  13. #13  
    MiraclesArePossible is online now Boot Room insider
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    55,740
    Quote Originally Posted by Darrren1 View Post
    Well of course the penalty taker is identified - he has his name on the back of his shirt in large letters.
    True.
    Reply With Quote   Quick reply to this message   Report Post   

  14. #14  
    Darrren1 is online now Better tables than DFS
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    20,787
    Quote Originally Posted by MiraclesArePossible View Post
    I wouldn't because a competent referee would disallow it.
    Well you'd sound him out first by asking if it's ok.
    Reply With Quote   Quick reply to this message   Report Post   

  15. #15  
    MiraclesArePossible is online now Boot Room insider
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    55,740
    Quote Originally Posted by Darrren1 View Post
    Well you'd sound him out first by asking if it's ok.
    I presume the opposition would also have to be in on it.
    Reply With Quote   Quick reply to this message   Report Post   

  16. #16  
    Darrren1 is online now Better tables than DFS
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    20,787
    Quote Originally Posted by MiraclesArePossible View Post
    I presume the opposition would also have to be in on it.
    Only if the ref's boring and pedantic. I bet Mike Dean would allow it.

    What if it was at Anfield and we'd already prepared a secret tunnel, so that Mignolet suddenly appeared at the penalty spot and took it? That would be hilarious.
    Reply With Quote   Quick reply to this message   Report Post   

  17. #17  
    MiraclesArePossible is online now Boot Room insider
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    55,740
    Quote Originally Posted by Darrren1 View Post
    Only if the ref's boring and pedantic. I bet Mike Dean would allow it.

    What if it was at Anfield and we'd already prepared a secret tunnel, so that Mignolet suddenly appeared at the penalty spot and took it? That would be hilarious.
    I think in that situation the ref would probably award it out of respect for our creativity.
    Reply With Quote   Quick reply to this message   Report Post   

  18. #18  
    Darrren1 is online now Better tables than DFS
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    20,787
    Quote Originally Posted by MiraclesArePossible View Post
    I think in that situation the ref would probably award it out of respect for our creativity.
    Excellent.

    I'll pass this on to our Chief groundsman.
    Reply With Quote   Quick reply to this message   Report Post   



Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •